Free chore apps compared: what each one includes at no cost
In short
Zupzi is a free family chore app for iPhone and iPad, and its maker wrote this comparison. We checked seven other chore apps on their own websites on September 24, 2026. Only Zupzi listed both photo proof and parent approval at no cost; Kikaroo and MyChoreBoard are free too and also run on Android.
Updated
How did we compare these apps?
Searching for a free chore app is harder than it sounds. Several apps are free to download but keep some features behind a paid version or a trial. So instead of ranking apps, we asked the same five questions of each one, using only what the vendor says on its own site:
- Is it free at no cost, and does the free version cover everyday use?
- Is photo proof included at no cost? Photo proof means your child sends a picture of the finished chore.
- Is there a parent approval step before a chore counts?
- Which devices does it run on?
- Does the vendor say it has no ads?
- Every page was opened on September 24, 2026. Apps change, so each source below carries that date, and we re-check this page every three months.
- Apps are listed alphabetically, not by preference.
- When a vendor's site does not mention a feature, the table says Not stated. That does not mean the app lacks it; it means we could not confirm it on the vendor's own page.
- We list no ratings, no user counts and no money amounts. For what each paid version costs today, follow the link to the vendor's own page.
- We left out apps whose key details we could not confirm on the vendor's own site.
Which chore apps are free, and what does each include?
| App | Free at no cost? | Photo proof at no cost? | Parent approval | Devices | Ads, per the vendor | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chore Pad | Yes; some extras are paid | Not stated | Not stated (passcode-protected parent area) | iOS (its site links only to the App Store) | "No ads" | chorepad.com |
| Joon | Limited free version; more features are paid | Not stated | Yes, per its App Store listing | iOS, Android, Amazon Fire tablets, Chromebooks | Not stated | joonapp.io |
| KidKarma | No free version (free trial, then paid) | Not stated | Yes, one tap (paid app) | iOS, Android | "No ads" | kidkarma.app |
| Kikaroo | Yes: unlimited kids and chores | Not stated | Yes, at no cost | iOS, Android | "No ads" | kikaroo.app/pricing.md |
| MyChoreBoard | Yes, free for families | Not stated | Not stated | Web, iPhone and iPad, Android, Amazon Fire | Not stated | mychoreboard.com |
| Neat Kid | Free scope not spelled out; a paid version adds features | Listed as a paid feature | Not stated | iOS, Android | "No ads" | neatkid.io |
| S'moresUp | Yes: core tools, after a 45-day trial of everything | No, a paid feature | No, a paid feature | iOS and iPadOS, Android | Not stated | smoresup.com/pricing |
| Zupzi | Yes, nothing to buy; up to two children | Yes, camera only | Yes, a quick yes or no | iPhone and iPad only; App Store in the United States and Brazil | No ads | App Store listing |
The short version: if you need Android, Kikaroo and MyChoreBoard are the free options we could confirm, and Kikaroo lists unlimited kids. If you want photo proof with a parent approval step at no cost on an iPhone or iPad, Zupzi was the only app in this table whose own pages say so. S'moresUp and Neat Kid include photo proof, but as a paid feature.
What does each chore app offer, one by one?
The table leaves out detail. Here is what each vendor's own page says, in the same alphabetical order.
Chore Pad
Chore Pad's site says its free experience covers what a family needs to run chores: children earn stars for finished chores and trade them for rewards you set, and a passcode protects the parent area. Extra themes, a larger icon library, a star modifier, Dropbox syncing and daily backups are paid. The site links only to the Apple App Store and says "No ads". It does not mention photo proof or an approval step.
Joon
Joon describes itself as a "behavior improvement app" and is built around a video game: children finish tasks, called Quests, to care for a virtual pet. Its FAQ says a free version can be used indefinitely, without every feature, and that the paid features come with a 7-day trial. It runs on iOS, Android, Amazon Fire tablets and Chromebooks. Its home page does not describe photo proof; its App Store listing says parents approve or reject finished tasks. For more, read how Zupzi and Joon differ.
KidKarma
KidKarma says plainly that there is no free version: a 14-day free trial needs a payment method, and the app is paid after that. Children ask for approval and parents approve with one tap. It says "No ads" and runs on iOS and Android. Its site does not mention photo proof.
Kikaroo
Kikaroo's pricing page lists a free version with unlimited kids and chores, points, rewards, parent approval, reminders and no ads, with no card and no trial clock. Step-by-step checklists inside a chore are a paid feature. It runs on iOS and Android. The pricing page does not mention photo proof.
MyChoreBoard
MyChoreBoard says it is free for families and built to stay that way. It runs as a web app and on iPhone, iPad, Android and Amazon Fire tablets, syncs between devices and between two homes, has a wall-board mode for one shared screen, and uses big icons so children who can't read yet can follow along. Its home page does not mention photo proof, an approval step or ads.
Neat Kid
Neat Kid's FAQ lists what its paid version includes: unlimited tasks, multiple children, custom rewards, photo proof and priority support. The page does not spell out what stays free. Its photo proof lets parents check that a task was done. It says "No ads" and links to both the iOS and the Android store.
S'moresUp
S'moresUp gives every family a 45-day trial of all its features, then keeps its core tools free, including unlimited family members and devices, chore scheduling, reminders and basic rewards. Chore approvals and photo proof are paid features after the trial. It runs on iOS, iPadOS and Android. For a closer look, read how Zupzi and S'moresUp differ.
Zupzi
Zupzi is free: there is nothing to buy in the app or on this site. You pick missions from 26 ready-made ones or write your own. A mission can ask for a photo, which your child takes with the camera (not the photo library), and you approve it with one tap. Approved missions earn Stars, which your child spends on real-world rewards you create. See photo proof and Stars and rewards. One optional extra, Zuzi, the voice companion inside Zupzi, stays off until you allow her and has 10 minutes a month per family.
Each family can add up to two children. Zupzi runs on iPhone and iPad with iOS or iPadOS 16.4 or later, from the App Store in the United States and Brazil, and the app is in English. The app has no ads and no third-party analytics or tracking software.
What should you look for in a free chore app?
Whichever app you choose, these questions tell you more than a star rating does. Each one links to how Zupzi answers it, so you can hold us to the same test.
Does photo proof cost extra?
Photo proof is where free apps differ most. S'moresUp and Neat Kid list it as a paid feature. Chore Pad, Joon, KidKarma, Kikaroo and MyChoreBoard do not mention it on the pages we checked. In Zupzi it is included, and you choose which missions ask for a photo. Also ask who sees the photos and how long they are kept: in Zupzi, mission photos are kept one month by default, and you can pick one week, three months or one year instead. See Safety and privacy.
Who decides that a chore is done?
A parent approval step stops points from piling up for chores that were only half done. KidKarma, Kikaroo and Joon describe one; S'moresUp keeps approvals in its paid features. In Zupzi, a finished mission waits for your yes before it becomes Stars. That is the default for every mission, and you can switch it off for a single mission. Your child sees a small celebration when you approve. Watch your kid does her missions.
Does it run on the devices your family already has?
Check both sides: the parent's phone and the device your child will use. MyChoreBoard and Joon cover the most kinds of devices, and MyChoreBoard also runs as a web app. Chore Pad's site links only to the Apple App Store, and Zupzi is Apple-only. Zupzi works on iPhone and iPad, and a child's device is paired with a 6-digit code that expires after 10 minutes. See Set up your kid's tablet.
Does it show ads, or send data to tracking companies?
Chore Pad, KidKarma, Kikaroo and Neat Kid say "No ads" on their sites. For data, read the app's privacy policy and its App Store privacy label, not only its home page. Zupzi's app has no ads, no third-party analytics or tracking software and no advertising identifier, and its App Store label lists data used for app functionality only. The details are on Safety and privacy.
Can a child who can't read yet follow the list?
MyChoreBoard uses big icons for young non-readers. In Zupzi, each ready-made mission has its own picture, two or three short steps and a Read it to me button. See read-aloud missions, and for ideas by age, chores by age.
Are the rewards money, or treats you choose?
Some families want chores tied to money; others want a movie night. Zupzi's Stars have no cash value: your child spends them by asking for rewards you create, and you deliver the reward in real life. If you want real money, see the section on allowance apps below. See Stars and rewards.
When is Zupzi not the right pick?
We would rather you pick the right app than the wrong one. Choose something else if any of these is true for your family:
- Someone uses Android. There is no Android version and no web app. Kikaroo, MyChoreBoard and S'moresUp all run on Android.
- You have three or more children. Each family can add up to two children in Zupzi. Kikaroo lists unlimited kids at no cost, and S'moresUp lists unlimited family members in its free tools.
- You live outside the United States or Brazil. Zupzi is on the App Store only in those two countries.
- You need the app in a language other than English. The app is in English. Zuzi, the optional voice companion inside Zupzi, speaks Portuguese when your child does.
- You want the app to handle allowance or a card. Zupzi moves no money. Stars have no cash value.
- You want one wall screen for the whole family. MyChoreBoard has a wall-board mode; Zupzi gives each child her own side on a phone or tablet.
Are money and allowance apps a different category?
Yes. Some apps that show up in chore searches are really money apps with chores attached, built around a card:
- Greenlight calls itself "the debit card for kids" and lets parents automate chores and allowance. It charges a monthly fee; see greenlight.com.
- BusyKid pairs a chore app with a BusyKid Visa Prepaid Card: parents set chores, and allowance is deposited each Friday. See busykid.com.
These make sense if teaching money is the goal. Zupzi has no card and moves no money; its Stars are traded for rewards you deliver yourself.
What Zupzi doesn't do
- There is no Android version and no web app.
- Each family can add up to two children.
- Zupzi is on the App Store only in the United States and Brazil.
- The app is in English.
- Zupzi moves no money: no allowance account and no card. Stars have no cash value.
What else do families ask?
What is the best free chore app?
It depends on your devices and how many children you have. For Android, Kikaroo and MyChoreBoard are free options we confirmed on their own sites; Kikaroo lists unlimited kids, and MyChoreBoard also runs on the web. For photo proof and parent approval at no cost on iPhone and iPad, Zupzi includes both. Zupzi's maker wrote this page, so weigh that.
Is Zupzi really free?
Yes. There is nothing to buy in Zupzi, not in the app and not on this site: no in-app purchases and no ads. Each family can add up to two children, missions are unlimited, and photo proof is included. See Help & FAQ.
Which chore apps include photo proof at no cost?
Of the apps we checked, only Zupzi's own pages list photo proof at no cost. S'moresUp and Neat Kid list it as a paid feature. Chore Pad, Joon, KidKarma, Kikaroo and MyChoreBoard do not mention photo proof on the pages we checked. See photo proof in Zupzi.
Which free chore apps work on Android?
Kikaroo and MyChoreBoard are free and run on Android; S'moresUp's core tools are free after its trial and also run on Android, and Joon has a limited free version. Zupzi is not one of them. There is no Android version.
Is there a free chore app with no ads?
Yes. Chore Pad, Kikaroo and Zupzi are free and say they have no ads. Neat Kid also says "No ads", though its site does not spell out what is free. KidKarma says "No ads" too, but it has no free version. Zupzi's app also has no third-party analytics or tracking software. See Safety and privacy.
Do Zupzi's Stars have cash value?
No. Stars have no cash value and cannot be bought or exchanged for money. Your child spends them by asking for real-world rewards you create, like a movie night or a trip to the park. See Stars and rewards.
Why is Zupzi in a comparison written by Zupzi?
Because leaving it out would hide the bias instead of stating it. We say who wrote the page, list apps alphabetically, cite only each vendor's own site and give Zupzi's row its limits. If a row is wrong, write to support@zupzi.io and we will fix it.
How often is this comparison checked?
Every three months. Each source below shows the date it was last opened, September 24, 2026 for this version. Apps change often, so check the vendor's own page before you decide.
Can I see how Zupzi works before installing it?
Yes. How it works has 15 videos of about a minute each, covering setup, missions, approvals, rewards and the Safety Center. Zupzi was built by a father for his two daughters; read more about Zupzi.
Zupzi is free on the App Store
iPhone and iPad · United States and Brazil · nothing to buy inside
Where do these facts come from?
- Chore Pad: home page (free experience, paid extras, "No ads", App Store link) — checked
- Joon: home page and FAQ (free version, trial, devices, virtual pet) — checked
- Joon on the App Store (parents review and approve or reject finished tasks) — checked
- KidKarma: home page (no free version, one-tap approval, "No ads", iOS and Android) — checked
- Kikaroo: pricing facts (free version, parent approval, no ads, iOS and Android) — checked
- MyChoreBoard: home page and FAQ (free, devices, wall-board mode, big icons) — checked
- Neat Kid: home page and FAQ (photo proof in the paid version, "No ads", store links) — checked
- S'moresUp: pricing page (free core tools, 45-day trial, paid approvals and photo proof) — checked
- S'moresUp: home page (iOS, iPadOS and Android downloads) — checked
- Greenlight: home page ("the debit card for kids", chores and allowance, monthly fee) — checked
- BusyKid: home page (Visa Prepaid Card, allowance each Friday) — checked
- Zupzi on the App Store (free, no in-app purchases, iPhone and iPad) — checked
- Zupzi Privacy Policy (no ads, no third-party analytics or tracking software in the app) — checked
- Zupzi Terms (nothing to buy; Stars have no cash value) — checked
